Digital Storytelling

Dig

Our code is MFJ383.

 http://www.carnegielibrary.org/kids/storymaker/embed.cfm?magicCode=MFJ383

For our digital storytelling, Nichole and I retold a well-know Aesop Fable, The Grasshopper and the Ant but we gave it a holiday twist.  We utilized myStoryMaker.  This was tool was user friendly and I like using it but I wish the story could be read aloud by the author or even if it was computer generated.  I was talking with Catherine and Suzy about this and Catherine recommended using Screenr capture the page turning and the storytelling.  If I have time this weekend, I will post it.

As far as creating a storyboard, I think it would be very important with most of the tools but it wasn’t as necessary with myStoryMaker.   Creating the storyboard helped with brainstorming, but due to the ease of use and the ability to edit previous pages at any point, it wasn’t necessary for this tool.  In fact, looking over the scenes, characters, and objects that myStoryMaker offers prior to beginning is essential because it can pose a handicap if an item you want for your story is not available.  It does not allow you to create anything. It also limits your writing space (it chopped the “n” off my name and I didn’t notice it until we were finished) so you can’t be too wordy.

All in all, I think this was a fun exercise and can see how students can create their own stories or summaries of well know stories.

Happy Holiday Shopping.  Don’t miss the Black Friday Sales.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzy Collins
    Nov 23, 2013 @ 14:56:49

    SuAnn: I enjoyed the story that you and Nichole created with myStoryMaker. Very clever twist on “The Ant and the Grasshopper”! Catherine and I chose to adapt the Cinderella story using the same application. During the creative process we had a great time discussing the characters and changing the events that would eventually lead Cinderella to her prince. But you are correct…this tool has limitations. Our story plot was absolutely driven by the scenes, characters, and objects available within myStoryMaker.

    I have used an application with students in the computer lab called “Scholastic Keys” that is really a kids’ version of Microsoft Office. Within this application there is the option to have a parrot (computer generated voice) read aloud what students type into their documents. They love it! I think the computer generated read aloud option added to myStoryMaker would enhance the story. They could even have different accents and male and female voices.

    Reply

  2. TrinaAbounds
    Nov 23, 2013 @ 16:51:15

    Cute story. It was fun to read! As you and Suzy note, adding voices would’ve been a great touch.

    I didn’t use StoryMaker; you did a great job with it. I’ll keep your notes in mind as I hope to keep all of these tools in my sandbox.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

