The Amazing Library Catalog

The Amazing Library Catalog

Once I got out of my melancholy mood, I embraced this project and now see it as a “real life” lesson.

I am pleased with my topic because now that it is completed, I see it in a different light.  I grasp how relevant it is for students at a young age to begin learning keyword search skills.  I was thinking merely of becoming self-sufficient in book selection but keyword searching the online catalog provides the groundwork for beginning research skills and information assessment.  Students can transfer this knowledge and will realize that keyword searching is an effective way to locate information on the Internet.  They will need to learn how to select keywords to produce the best search results.  I can foresee creating additional lessons that build upon this skill.

Now on another note, I want to create a different The Amazing Library Catalog tutorial in the future because my original vision for my tutorial is nothing like my finished product.   Unfortunately, due to time and not being far enough along in my film making abilities, I did create my original vision but……I know one day, I will make a video of my keyword search dreams (and author, title, and subject search dreams).

I almost forgot that I wanted to add my curation collection.  I created a collection of Good Reads for 2nd graders.  I would give each child a paper copy with the link to the collection for their parents.  The collection will be updated with new books, seasonal items, and featured items offered at the book fair.

snip-it4

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sav0913
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 22:45:41

    Although you made several changes to your project since we discussed it during the last class, it looks like your project came together beautifully! Your flipped video is clear and helpful, and I especially appreciate the inclusion of several keyword search examples. Great job!

    Reply

  2. smcolli4
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 22:50:41

    I think you did a great job on your learning project! I really liked your collection of book titles and the descriptions.

    Reply

  3. jmjeffer
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 22:50:50

    You are right! Learning how to use the keyword search is so important to getting relevant results. This is something I would like to add to my learning project. Particularly because keyword searching is the default in worldcat. Thank you for the reminder!
    Is the learning video on just one catalog or any catalog?

    Reply

  4. srklawit
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 22:56:07

    I created this video for the school I work which is a Guilford County School and they use Destiny as their online catalog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

