Week 9: Instructional Objectives – Draft

I work with three guided reading groups and many of the children ask me to recommend books to read.  Sometimes they ask me where can they find a (put any noun, adjective, or verb here) book?  I try to offer suggestions that fit their interests or personalities but once in a while my mind will blank.  I can search the online catalog but I know it would be great for the children to know how to use the online catalog themselves.  In addition, if they forget, a tutorial would be available that can assist them, even at home.  Therefore, my learning project is teaching children to be self-sufficient in selecting their reading material.

My Essential Question is:   How can I use technology to promote student reading and increase their background knowledge?

The Learning Project correlates with my essential through the promotion of student reading.  When every book that a child reads is chosen or recommended for them by teachers or parents, children can lose the self-motivation to read.  I want children to be able to view the availability of books in their area or areas of interest and the opportunity to select a book that they want to read.  Choice is very important in the encouragement of independent reading.

The lesson and tutorial will be delivered initially to the 2nd grade students but the tutorial will be available for students of all ages.  The lesson will occur in the elementary school media center.

The instructional objective will be for the 2nd grade students to become self-sufficient in using the online catalog for individual book selection.

Per the American Association of School Librarians, Standards for the 21st-Century Learner will be:  4.4.1 Identify own areas of interest.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzy Collins
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 00:30:09

    Hi SuAnn! I think that you could also add a standard from NETS:

    3. Research and Information Fluency
    Students apply digital tools to gather, evaluate,
    and use information.
    a. Plan strategies to guide inquiry
    b. Locate, organize, analyze, evaluate, synthesize,
    and ethically use information from a variety of
    sources and media
    c. Evaluate and select information sources and digital
    tools based on the appropriateness to specific tasks
    d. Process data and report results

    Well, maybe not all of these, but certainly, A. Plan strategies to guide inquiry. They will need to decide if they are using a keyword, subject, title etc. And I find working with students that they sometimes have a difficult time choosing the appropriate keywords in their searches. Sounds like a great project. What will you use for your curation?

    Reply

  2. srklawit
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 15:48:29

    At this time I am focusing this tutorial on keyword search only because my audience is 2nd graders. I feel it would be beneficial to create a tutorial that encompasses all types of searches or to add individual tutorials for each type of search. For my curation, I am thinking about a good reads list on Pinterest.

    Reply

  3. TrinaAbounds
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 21:57:19

    Nice! Would you in some way have the students assist in the development of the tutorial? Particularly since it is focused on 2nd graders and their interests, they may get a “kick out of” seeing others like them” teaching them how to use it. They also “speak the language” so that it’s easy for them to understand how it works.

    Reply

    • Amy Snyder
      Nov 05, 2013 @ 20:54:49

      I really like the idea of getting the students involved in creating the tutorial, especially because of your point about “speaking the language.” I find it hard sometimes to break down a skill I’ve been using for years into kid-sized wording.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

