Remix Article/Video

The article I chose is called Education Remix:  Unlocking Creativity to Boost Learning by John Orlando.  The article explains how a remix is not only fun to create but is a learning activity.  In order to create the remix, knowledge of the subject is needed.  In addition, it can be used to educate others about the subject.  The example that was used is a creation from the University of Alberto medical students in 2010 about a cardiac arrhythmia called Wenckebach.  The group remixed Justin Timberlake’s “Sexy Back”  and they titled it “Diagnosis Wenckebach.”  The video has been viewed by millions and today it is educating medical students about the condition.

A remix can be used for a variety of educational purposes and for a variety of ages.  Do you remember hearing the pre-k/kindergarten song that is used to teach the days of the week?  The catchy tune is a remix from the Adams Family TV show.

How often have we taken a childhood song to assist with remembering or educating?  I know that I talk both of my daughters our phone number to the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”.  Did I think of whether or not I was infringing on a copyright?  No, I only wanted them to be able to teach them what to do in case of an emergency. and I would do it again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jarrian
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 22:02:09

    SuAnn, when I saw that this video was a remix of a Timberlake song, I initially thought about Weird Al and all of his funny parodies. I feel that when you take something that is popular, in the case of JT’s “Sexy Back” song and make it funny, you can slip in quite a bit of education with it. This is especially helpful with children, as they have shorter attention spans. Effective for us big kids, too!

    Reply

  2. srklawit
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 22:12:08

    Jarrian – I learn by association, whether it is a song or a poem and I know others do as well. I hope that the world continues to allow us to use catchy tunes to help educate ourselves and children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

