Choosing An Infographic

Over the past few days, I have looked at a tremendous amount of infographics. I found the process similar to going grocery shopping when I am hungry. If I am hungry when I go grocery shopping, I buy what I am craving. I won’t buy everything and anything as some people do. I buy what I am craving which could be chocolate, steak, salsa, or ice cream. While looking through the infographics, I found that what I liked depended on my mood or even cravings. I started keeping a favorite list of them because they ranged from busy, simple, colorful, bland, or just hilarious. For instance, I was browsing through some infographics one evening when I was feeling tired. I continually returned to one that was called Coffee Drinks Illustrated. It was very simple and contained information about a product I enjoy immensely but could not have because the caffeine would make sleep unobtainable. Perhaps it was subliminal advertising but I enjoyed looking at Coffee Drinks Illustrated but it is not my preferred example. Later, I looked at some of the same infographics I skimmed over and many that were by-passed became attention-grabbing the second time around. And speaking of attention–grabbing, even as I was drawn to the bright, flashy, busy creations, if there was too much information to read, I stopped and moved on to the next one.

PetInfographic3

Finally I settled on the one I wanted to share due to its simplicity and creativeness. It is called From Wolf to Squeak. The primary reason I find it compelling enough to mention is due to the clear visual message that it portrays. The animal graphics that the designer used correlates with the idea and the message was not lost with too much text or data. It is informative and I could immediately assess that my 1 dog and 2 guinea pigs are among the top ten most popular pets but I should have another ½ a dog to make myself an average dog owner. In addition, I like the gray scale that was utilized because I found it very settling and uncluttered. I wonder if the designer had produced it in color initially. I could see this infographic framed and hung in a vet’s office or something similar used to advertise pets available for adoption at animal shelters.

Infographic source: http://christineparkdesign.com/blogpics/090930/Final_PetInfographic.jpg

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TrinaAbounds
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 22:19:43

    Very creative, yet simple. Agreed, this could be used as an advertisement. The mix of image with very little text makes it easy to understand, for any age. I like your selection because it showcases the power of an infographic to visually display information without losing the information/not knowing exactly what you’re supposed to take away from the display.

    Reply

  2. Suzy Collins
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 20:09:16

    I think this infographic is very effective in grabbing the attention of its audience with the creative graphic. The text is not overwhelming but educational.

    Reply

  3. catherinemprince
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 22:59:52

    I love this infographic. It isn’t flashy and gets the point across so smoothly! I am one cat short of average, but that could always change!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

